GUT BUCKET NEWS

The Voice of the Morrow Tournament

ALICE IVY CALLS IT QUITS!!!

Greenville, DE - It is truly the end of an era. At a press conference at the entrance of Stonegates, **Jeff Rogatz** introduced his long time partner, Alice Ivy. Jeff appeared to be as deflated at the New England Patriots' footballs. He spoke briefly of the many fun matches they played over the years.

Then **Alice Ivy** approached the podium for the earth shattering announcement. After 29 straight years of playing in the Morrow Tournament, and many more years before that playing the Tri-Club Mixed Championship (see below for an additional controversy), Alice announced that last year was her last. After 5 years of saying "I promise you that this is my last year of playing the Morrow Tournament" (or the Royal Rumble or the Kitchel Cup) Alice decided to leave at the top of her game.

Having failed to send a high enough official to Paris, France last week for the Solidarity Parade, President Obama made sure not to blow this one. He is sending **Vice President Joe Biden** to Delaware on Saturday evening to bestow on Alice the little known, but much coveted "Presidential Medal of Paddle". **Joe** (we all call him Joe) has asked for only 60 minutes at the podium. We can't wait.

CONTROVERSY ERUPTS OVER HISTORY OF TOURNAMENT 31 OR 42??

Greenville, DE - The Committee has been meeting day and night to discuss an issue that no one in their right mind will care about.

After last years very successful 30th Anniversary celebration, one of the tournament founders, **Barry Snyder**, decided to re-write history.

Follow along as **Lawyer Snyder**, of the law firm, Dewey, Cheatum and Howe, makes his case. "Remember that old song by the Chicago Transit Authority (the young people refer to the band as Chicago) **25 or 6 to 4**. Well, I have no idea what the name of that song means, and I have even less of an idea how it relates to what I am about to say."

"The Morrow Tournament is a continuation of the Wilmington Platform Tennis Open (later renamed the Tri-Club Mixed Championship) that was started in the winter of 1974, January 19th & 20th to be precise. It remained the Tri-Club even after Kennett Square Golf & Country Club was added to the event in the early 1980's. Although this is the 31st playing of the tournament under the name Morrow Tournament, it is the 42nd playing of the Tri-Club Mixed. Besides, the 5 year anniversary parties are great fun, so this gets us a year closer to the 45th anniversary year, and a year closer to the 50th, which will be the party to end all parties. How could that be a bad thing? I rest my case."

ORIGIN OF THE MORROW TOURNAMENT

Wilmington, DE - Paddle started in Wilmington in the early '70s. GCC had the first court. Vicmead put in two courts in 1972. WCC followed a year later. The first Tri-Club Mixed Doubles Tournament was played in 1974 (with 56 teams) When Kennett added courts their members joined the fun. (With 4 clubs, it was still the "Tri-Club").

Dick Morrow played paddle when he and his wife Sugar lived in Bronxville in the early '60s. He was the paddle proselyte in Wilmington throughout its first decade here. Dick was an excellent player, yet Dick also had a real feeling for less competitive players and beginners. He lured players of all levels onto the courts to share the fun. Dick made sure that the Tri-Club was always a fun weekend.

When Dick died in 1984, Randy Barton, Barry Snyder and Lee Wiley had the same thought. The best way to honor Dick was to name the Tri-Club after him and continue the Tournament in his spirit. Randy, Barry and Lee formed a committee with Peggy Barton, Ron and Ellie Maroney and Molly Wiley to transform the Tri-Club into the Richard R. P. Morrow Invitational Tournament. It is an invitational so we can include some out-oftown friends and make some new friends. The four flights encourages the participation of beginners and hackers. We continue it with a strong emphasis on the social, off-court fun. It is a pleasure to remember Dick when we go out each year in late January.

MORROW COMMITTEE ADOPTS AUSTERITY BUDGET

Centreville, DE - Having blown all of its savings last year, the Committee chose to cut costs this year. No vests, no sterling silver prizes.

THANKS TO OUR COCKTAIL PARTY HOSTS

1991	Ellie & Ron Maroney
1994	Peggy & Randy Barton
1995	Debbie Pearce
1996	Kirk & Pres Ayars
1997	Nancy & Dave Marvin
1998	Ann & Jeff Nielsen
1999	Ellie & Ron Maroney
2000-2001	Debbie Pearce*
2002-2004	Leatrice & Toby Elliman*
2005-2011	Anne & Wade Scott**
	Anne & Wade Seote
2012-2013	Sue Ann & John Kane
2012-2013 2014	
	Sue Ann & John Kane
2014	Sue Ann & John Kane Erica & Chris Donoho

*Hat Trick ** A Full Gowen & More

CELEBRATE WITH US 42 (or 31) YEARS OF FUN!!!

Page 3 GUT BUCKET NEWS

Morrow Tournament Champions

CHA	MPIONSHIP	FLIGHT A	FLIGHT B	FLIGHT C			
FLIGHT							
1985	Not Created Yet	Chas Burkhart Caroline Burkhart	Ed Morrow Wendy Richards				
1986	Not Created Yet	Ernie Rivet Cindy Prendergast	Hugo Schwandt Nancy Marvin				
1987	Not Created Yet	Chas Burkhart Caroline Burkhart	John Hoover Barbara Hoover				
1988	Not Created Yet	Tim McAvoy Laurie Hissey	Chan Moore Ceci Moore				
1989	Tim McAvoy Laurie Hissey	Larry Scott Anna Brantley	Shaw Taylor Milbrey Jacobs				
1990	Chas Burkhart Bunny Vosters	Jeff Hulick Margaret Munday	Chip Pollock Verna Teets				
1991	Tim McAvoy Laurie Hissey	Ken Goddu Candy Goddu	Rod Maroney Eileen Maroney				
1992	Tom Safford Laurie Hissey	Ron Groff Maureen O'Berg	Jamie Marvel Lisa Hughes				
1993	Todd Marvin Cindy Prendertgast	Penn Yeatman Sandy Yeatman	George Hobbs Debbie Hobbs				
1994	Tim McAvoy Laurie Hissey	Peter Veale Milbrey Jacobs	George Hobbs Margaretta Brokaw				
1995	Todd Marvin Cindy Prendergast	Steve Kapp Courtney Kapp	Hugh Wallace Janet Conigliaro				
1996	Todd Marvin Cindy Prendergast	H. G. Haskell Eileen Maroney	Mike Skibicki Margaret Smith				
1997	Bob Harrison Cindy Prendergast	Ed McQuillen Beth LaMotte	Steve Smith Wiz Applegate				
1998	Ed McQuillen Cindy Prendergast	Ken Goddu Candy Goddu	Douglas White Carolina White				
1999	Bob Bolling Kim Jennings	Jeff Nielsen Debbie Hobbs	Rich Habibi Debbie DePhillips				
2000	Bob Bolling Cooey Burkhart	Vinson Hendrix Margaretta Andrews	Bill Anderson Eleanor Schwandt				

Page 4 GUT BUCKET NEWS

January 23, 2015

2001	Rusty Wright Daniela Pino	Jay Wright Beth Wright	Charles du Pont Lisa Dailey	
2002	Ted Easter Cooey Burkhart	Mike Ashley Lisa Ashley	R. G. Hackett Alice Ivy	
2003	Pete Morrow Cindy Prendergast	Ron Groff Maureen O'Berg	Rocco Dambro Candy Adkinson	
2004	Chas Burkhart Patty Burkhart	Matt Alacknavitch Kim Alacknavitch	Gabe DeVitto Ruth Russell	
2005	Bill Pound Cindy Prendergast	Barry Snyder Beth Wright	Dave Burton Sarah Carpenter	
2006	Steve Nycum Cindy Prendergast	Ron Pinsky Betsy Pinsky	Ted Cover Marina Attix	
2007	Steve Nycum Cooey Lyon	Roberto Gollmann Carol Taylor	Eric Holloway Alice Ivy	
2008	Brint Morrow Cindy Prendergast	Mark Centrella Betsy Pinsky	Wills Elliman Tracy Elliman	
2009	Chas Burkhart Cooey Lyon	Jay Wright Joan Snyder	Dave Burton Ginger Burton	
2010	Jeff Lyon Cindy Prendergast	Phil Chapman Donna Smith	Andy Podolsky Debbie Ashley	
2011	Jeff Lyon Cooey Lyon	Wes Schwandt Eleanor Schwandt	John Conlin Erica Donoho	
2012	Chas Burkhart Cindy Prendergast	Tom O'Neill Lynn Hinckley	Jeff Hauck Hannah Christopher	
2013	Dave Hissey, Jr. Ali Tross	Phil Chapman Ruth Russell	Jeff Hauck Debbie Dittmer	
2014	Tim McAvoy Ali Tross	Diego Rodriguez Lynn Bruder	Albert Chisholm Sue DeCaro	Derek Johnson Anna Cunningham
2015	Your Name Here!	Your Name Here!	Your Name Here!	Your Name Here!