2018 Morrow Tournament Finale

Campaign Preview

HTML Source

Plain-Text Email

Details

2018 Morrow Finale

View this email in your browser

2018 Morrow Summary



From left to right, Open Division Runners Up Todd Marvin and Cindy Prendergast (playing in what we believe to be her 23rd final) and Open Division Champions Jeff Wiedemann and Steph White.

A big thanks to you all for making the 34th (or 45th) Morrow Tournament another success. 54 teams, 99 matches, and 45 hours of fun.

The rain couldn't defeat the 2018 Morrow. C'mon. You all either said "the heck with it - let's play another one on Saturday night!" or braved the elements on Sunday and played anyway. Pfffft Mother Nature. We're tougher than that. The completed draws are up on the <u>draws</u> section of the website (www.morrowpt.org)

The Tournament was marked by a number of first (or at least rare) occurrences:

- Super Saturday: With the threat of rain for Sunday morning, we
 completed almost all the matches on Saturday, with last-minute
 agreements to get back on the court by the finalists. Kudos to the
 flexibility of you players, and to Jim Davis and his staff at Greenville CC.
 What a great environment at Greenville on Saturday night for the finals.
- New Technology: We transitioned to an all-online application, and started accepting paypal as a payment option.
- The youth movement continued to pick up steam as a slew of youngsters with names like Alicknavitch, White, Wiedemann, Bozentka, Bacchieri, Nutting, Newman, Bosse, Moore, a new (Allie!) Barnett, Albright, Harrison, Ashley and Jadeja began to dot the brackets with more regularity. Be on notice young 'uns - we want to do a special Friday night Rage in the Cage with all of you taking each other on next year! Start thinking about it.
- We welcomed 19 first time Morrowers with accomplished tennis
 players like Jen Brown and Chris Tigani getting the paddle bug. And
 also had some missed friends come back after a bit of an absence
 (Good to see you Wills Elliman, Donna Lovely, Ryan White, Corkrans,
 Linda Tabeling, and Simon Peppiatt).

We still have prizes for some of you that were finalists, so please contact Tony Devitto to collect. And we also are not sure everyone received their favor (the long

?